Want to help Hoosier farmers? Seek election to the Indiana corn checkoff board


Contact: Dave Blower Jr. at 317-644-0980;


INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (March 9, 2020) — The Indiana Corn Marketing Council (ICMC) will have elections for five positions on its board of directors this year. Hoosier farmers interested in directing Indiana’s corn checkoff investments may now petition to run for election to one of those seats. ICMC manages the corn checkoff investments with the goal of supporting and growing Indiana’s corn industry.

“The volunteer leadership of those who have served on the ICMC board have benefitted Indiana corn farmers for many years,” said ICMC President Joshua Miller, who is a corn grower from Anderson, Ind. “For the Indiana corn industry to remain strong and effective, we rely on farmers to fill these leadership positions. We always want people with new perspectives and ideas to help our corn research and promotion efforts.”

Board members determine the promotional, educational and research activities funded by the corn checkoff. ICMC’s strategic plan focuses on market development, production research and farmer services. Priorities include ethanol, transportation infrastructure, production research, livestock promotion and international exports.

To run for an ICMC director seat, Indiana corn farmers must be at least 18 years old, a registered Indiana voter and a resident in the appropriate district. All farmers who submit a valid petition by June 12, 2020 will be listed as a candidate on the election ballot. Voting takes place at Purdue Cooperative Extension Service county offices in August.

Here is the breakdown of each district:

  • One open seat – District 3 includes the counties of LaGrange, Steuben, Noble, DeKalb, Whitley, Allen, Huntington, Wells and Adams.
  • One seat up for re-election – District 6 includes the counties of Blackford, Jay, Delaware, Henry, Randolph, Wayne, Fayette and Union.
  • One seat up for re-election – District 9 includes the counties of Franklin, Jennings, Jefferson, Ripley, Dearborn, Ohio, Clark, Switzerland and Scott.
  • Two statewide At-Large seats up for re-election


Farmers can download any necessary forms at or by calling Chris Weldon at the ICMC office at 1-800-735-0195. Forms are also available at all Purdue County Extension offices.


Newly elected directors will begin a three-year term Oct. 1, 2020. ICMC directors can serve three consecutive full terms or a total of nine consecutive years. For more information about Indiana Corn Marketing Council, visit






The Indiana Corn Marketing Council was established by the Indiana General Assembly to promote the interest of corn growers in the state and manage corn checkoff funds. The Council is composed of 17 voting farmer directors and seven appointed industry, and government representatives who direct investments of corn checkoff funds on behalf of more than 28,000 Indiana corn farmers. The ICMC is working to build new markets for corn through the promotion of grain marketing, livestock, production research, ethanol, and environmental programs. Learn more at


This communication was funded with Indiana corn checkoff dollars.