Three at-large candidates vie for two positions on Indiana corn checkoff board


Contact: Dave Blower Jr. at 317-644-0980;

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (July 11, 2022) — Three candidates are seeking the two available at-large seats on the Indiana Corn Marketing Council (ICMC) Board of Directors during this summer’s election. Noblesville, Ind., farmer Adam Sheller along with incumbent directors Joshua Miller of Anderson, Ind., and David Ring of Huntingburg, Ind., are the candidates in this year’s election. The two candidates with the most votes will win election to the board. All Hoosier corn growers are eligible to cast a ballot.

Absentee voting is open now through Aug. 5. Absentee ballots can be requested from the ICMC website at or by calling the ICMC office at 317-644-2791 until Aug. 3. Farmers may vote in person at Purdue Cooperative Extension Service county offices from Aug. 8-12. All eligible Hoosier corn producers, defined as any person engaged in the business of producing and marketing corn in Indiana under the producer’s own name or the name of an entity in which the producer has ownership, may vote in the election.

The state is divided into nine districts with one director representing each of the districts and six at-large seats representing all of Indiana. One candidate each is seeking re-election in the District 1, District 4 and District 7 races.

Natasha Cox of Benton, Ind., is running unopposed on the District 1 ballot. The counties of Lake, Porter, LaPorte, Starke, Pulaski, Jasper, White, Benton and Newton are in District 1.

In District 4, Paul Hodgen of Putnam, Ind., seeks another three-year term. District 4 includes the counties of Warren, Tippecanoe, Montgomery, Putnam, Owen, Clay, Vigo, Parke, Vermillion and Fountain.

J.R. Roesner of Ferdinand, Ind., is running unopposed in his District 7 race. The counties of Sullivan, Greene, Daviess, Martin, Knox, Dubois, Pike, Gibson, Warrick, Spencer, Vanderburgh and Posey make up District 7.

The ICMC board manages state corn checkoff investments and determines promotional, educational and research activities that can strengthen Indiana’s corn industry. The elected directors will serve three-year terms beginning Oct. 1, 2022. ICMC directors can serve three consecutive full terms or a total of nine consecutive years.

For more information, visit or call Hannah Vorsilak, ICMC Marketing Operations and Leadership Director, at 317-644-2791. For details about Indiana’s corn checkoff program, visit


About Indiana Corn Marketing Council: The Indiana Corn Marketing Council was established by the Indiana General Assembly to promote the interests of corn growers in the state and to manage corn checkoff funds. The Council is composed of 17 voting directors who guide investments of corn checkoff funds on behalf of more than 20,000 Indiana corn farmers. The ICMC works to assist corn farmers through its strategic initiatives of market development; environmental, social and economic sustainability; value creation and producer engagement. Learn more at

This communication was funded with Indiana corn checkoff dollars.