Indiana Corn Growers Association seeks board candidates for Districts 1, 4 and 7


Contact: Dave Blower Jr. at 317-644-0980;

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (Dec. 21, 2022) — Corn farmers who want to advocate for agriculture to federal and state lawmakers should consider adding their name to the Indiana Corn Growers Association (ICGA) board 2023 election ballot. The ICGA board advocates for Hoosier corn farmers at the local, state and federal levels. ICGA’s governing districts match Indiana’s nine Congressional districts. In 2023, ICGA will elect board directors for districts 1, 4 and 7.

“Participation is crucial at every level of the political process. From county zoning boards to the state legislature to the USDA and EPA, we need to keep our eyes and ears open for rules and regulations that may impact how we farm,” said ICGA President Scott Smith, a corn farmer from Windfall, Ind. “If farmers do not participate in the process that creates new policies and rules for Indiana agriculture, then people who don’t understand farming will write those laws. I encourage anyone with a passion for these issues to join us on the ICGA board.”

To be eligible, candidates must be an ICGA member in good standing; own, manage or operate a farm that produces corn; reside in the district they represent; and is current on ICGA membership dues. The following districts will have elections in 2023:

  • District 1, which includes Lake, Porter and the northwest corner of LaPorte counties
  • District 4, which includes Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clinton, Hendricks, Jasper, Montgomery, Morgan, Newton, Putnam, Tippecanoe, White, Warren and parts of Cass, Fountain and Howard counties
  • District 7, which includes most of Marion County

Finishing their first, three-year terms are Tom Murphy, a Chesterton, Ind., farmer in District 1, and Tyler Everett, a Lebanon, Ind., farmer. Mike Beard, a Frankfort, Ind., farmer is terming off after three terms in District 4.

Election applications are due to the ICGA office by Jan 27, 2023. Ballots will be mailed to members in May and must be returned by June 30. Winners will start serving in December 2023.

For more details, to find a district map or to download an application, click the button below:

Click Here To Apply Today

Once application is filled out, submit all completed materials to Amber Myers,


About Indiana Corn Growers Association: The Indiana Corn Growers Association works with state and federal governments to develop and promote sound policies that benefit Indiana corn farmers. The ICGA consists of nine farmer-directors who provide leadership to the organization on behalf of more than 700 members statewide. Learn more at

This communication was NOT funded with Indiana corn checkoff dollars.