Absentee voting for Indiana Corn Marketing Council Board of Directors is now open


Contact: Dave Blower Jr. at 317-644-0980;

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (July 14, 2020) — Corn farmers may cast absentee ballots in this year’s election for the Indiana Corn Marketing Council’s (ICMC) Board of Directors from now through Aug. 9. Farmers may vote in person at open Purdue Cooperative Extension Service county offices from Aug. 10-14, but are encouraged to submit absentee ballots this year due to some Extension Offices potentially being closed due to COVID-19.

All eligible Hoosier corn producers, defined as any person engaged in the business of producing and marketing corn in Indiana under the producer’s own name or the name of an entity in which the producer has ownership, may vote in the election. The state is divided into nine districts with one director representing each of the districts and six at-large seats representing all of Indiana.

Absentee ballots can be downloaded from ICMC website at or by calling the ICMC office at 317-644-2791. Absentee ballots must be received by Aug. 9. Five Indiana corn farmers are seeking election, all in unopposed races, for the five available seats on the ICMC board. Each candidates must receive at least vote to be elected to the Board of Directors. The candidates include:

District 3 – Jerry Osterholt, Roanoke, Ind.

District 6 – Adam Howell, Middletown, Ind.

District 9 – John Adam Jr., Sellersburg, Ind.

At-large – Susan Brocksmith, Vincennes, Ind.

At-large – Tim Gauck, Greensburg, Ind.

District 3 includes the counties of LaGrange, Steuben, Noble, DeKalb, Whitley, Allen, Huntington, Wells and Adams. District 6 includes the counties of Blackford, Jay, Delaware, Henry, Randolph, Wayne, Fayette and Union. District 9 includes the counties of Franklin, Jennings, Jefferson, Ripley, Dearborn, Ohio, Clark, Switzerland and Scott. The at-large seats each represent all of Indiana.

The ICMC board manages state corn checkoff investments and determines promotional, educational and research activities that can strengthen Indiana’s corn industry. The elected directors will serve three-year terms beginning Oct. 1, 2020. ICMC directors can serve three consecutive full terms or a total of nine consecutive years.

For more information, visit or call Hannah Vorsilak, ICMC Marketing Operations and Leadership Director, at 317-644-2791.


The Indiana Corn Marketing Council was established by the Indiana General Assembly to promote the interest of corn growers in the state and manage corn checkoff funds. The Council is composed of 17 voting farmer directors and seven appointed industry, and government representatives who direct investments of corn checkoff funds on behalf of more than 28,000 Indiana corn farmers. The ICMC is working to build new markets for corn through the promotion of grain marketing, livestock, production research, ethanol, and environmental programs. Learn more at


This communication was funded with Indiana corn checkoff dollars.