2017 Officer Team Elected for Indiana Corn Marketing Council

INDIANAPOLIS (Jan. 6, 2017) — Six Indiana corn growers were elected to lead the state corn checkoff board of directors, including David Gottbrath who was re-elected as president for Indiana Corn Marketing Council.
“As the farmer-directors of this organization, we want to strategically invest checkoff dollars in projects directly impacting the bottom line on the farm, as well as those that build markets for our corn here in the state and beyond,” said Gottbrath, of Pekin. “Corn plays a role in numerous industries – including renewable fuels and livestock – and through our work with checkoff funds, we want to ensure that those markets continue to grow to help build demand for our crop.”
Other members elected to the executive committee include: Herb Ringel of Wabash, Ind. as vice president; Sarah Delbecq of Auburn, Ind. as secretary; Dennis Maple of Greentown, Ind. as treasurer; Jacob Walker of Waterloo, Ind. as demand committee chairman; and Kelly Whitman Snipes of Rochester, Ind. as supply committee chairman.
Established in 2001, ICMC oversees the investment of state corn checkoff funds in programs to strengthen domestic and international demand for corn and corn products. ICMC is led by 17 farmer-directors who are elected by Indiana corn farmers.
In the 2016 ICMC elections, five corn farmers were elected to serve their first terms on the board, including:
  • Joshua Miller from Madison County and David Ring from Dubois County were elected to serve as at-large directors representing the entire state of Indiana.
  • Natasha Cox from Benton County was elected to represent District 1, which includes Lake, Porter, LaPorte, Starke, Pulaski, Jasper, White, Benton, and Newton counties.
  • Paul Hodgen from Putnam County was elected to represent District 4, which includes Warren, Tippecanoe, Montgomery, Putnam, Owen, Clay, Vigo, Parke, Vermillion, Fountain counties.
  • James (JR) Roesner from Dubois County was elected to represent District 7, which includes Sullivan, Greene, Daviess, Martin, Knox, Dubois, Pike, Gibson, Warrick, Spencer, Vanderburgh, and Posey counties.
Two additional Indiana farmers were appointed to the board as representatives of the state’s two largest general farm organizations. James Benham of the Indiana Farmers Union and Kevin Underwood of the Indiana Farm Bureau will each serve a three-year term as a voting director on the board.
For more information about Indiana Corn Marketing Council, visit www.incorn.org.
Contact: Megan Kuhn, 317-614-0377, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .
The Indiana Corn Marketing Council was established by the Indiana General Assembly to promote the interest of corn growers in the state and manage corn checkoff funds. The Council is composed of 17 voting farmer directors and seven appointed industry, and government representatives.
This communication was funded with corn checkoff dollars.