Twelve Indiana Corn Growers Recognized in National Yield Contest

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (January 4, 2017) — Twelve Indiana corn growers were recognized for their high bushel per acre yields in the 52nd National Corn Yield Contest. The contest is sponsored by the National Corn Growers Association and provides farmers the opportunity to participate in a friendly competition and learn about yield patterns throughout the country.

“NCGA’s National Corn Yield Contest is a way to recognize farmers for their success in growing corn and providing food for the world,” said Mike Nichols, farmer from Rockport, Ind. and Indiana Corn Growers Association president. “We’re proud to have Indiana corn farmers among the winners in this competition.”
NCGA received 7,972 entries in the 2016 contest. All contestants must be dues-paying members of NCGA and their state corn association. Twelve Indiana corn growers were recognized in four different categories.
Indiana AA Non-Irrigated Winners
1. Kevin Kalb of Dubois, Ind.
2. Terry Hoffman of Jasper, Ind.
3. Faith Little of Hebron, Ind.
Indiana AA No-Till/Strip-Till Non-Irrigated Winners
1. Robert Little of Hebron, Ind.
2. Josh Butt of Cory, Ind. 
3. Terry Vissing of Marysville, Ind.

No-Till/Strip-Till Irrigated
1. Craig Williams of Oaktown, Ind.
2. Jeff Herrold of Wanatah, Ind.
3. Matt Spurgeon of Freetown, Ind.
1. Marvin Murphy of Rochester, Ind.
2. Duane Wangler of Merom, Ind.
3. Jacob Smoker of Waratah, Ind.
The top 18 national winners in six production categories had verified yields averaging more than 375 bushels per acre, compared to the projected national average of 175.3 bushels per acre in 2016.
All winners will be honored during the NCGA Awards Banquet and the National Corn Yield Contest State Winners Breakfast during the 2017 Commodity Classic in San Antonio. Winners receive national recognition in publications such as the National Corn Yield Contest Corn Yield Guide, as well as cash trips or other awards from participating sponsoring seed, chemical and crop protection companies.
For more information about the contest and this year’s winners, visit:
Membership to NCGA is required for participating in the National Corn Yield Contest. To become a dues-paying member of National Corn Growers Association, as well as Indiana Corn Growers Association, visit or call 1-800-735-0195.
Contact: Megan Kuhn, 317-614-0377, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
The ICGA board, which works with the state and federal governments to develop and promote sound policies that benefit Indiana corn farmers, consists of 15 farmer-directors who provide leadership to the organization on behalf of the nearly 600 ICGA members statewide.
This communications was NOT funded with Indiana corn checkoff dollars.