Indiana Corn Farmers Named to National Leadership Positions

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. (Nov. 4, 2016) — Eight farmer leaders from the Indiana Corn Marketing Council and Indiana Corn Growers Association were recently named to National Corn Growers Association committees for the upcoming year. 
“Indiana corn growers need to be engaged in helping shape the conversations happening about our industry on all levels, from their county to the statehouse and all the way to Washington, D.C.,” said Mike Nichols, ICGA president and a farmer from Rockport. “I am pleased that Indiana has great representation on our national corn organization’s committees where so many of the issues we face as farmers are being discussed.”
The following Indiana corn farmers received appointments:
  • Ronnie Mohr of Greenfield, Ind. serves on Freedom to Operate Team. The Freedom to Operate team will handle efforts regarding biotechnology, integrated pest management, crop protection, Big Data and unmanned aircraft systems.
  •  Sarah Delbecq of Auburn, Ind. serves as vice chair Risk Management Committee, which oversees crop insurance, tax, appropriations and Farm Bill Title I directives. She also serves on the Resolutions Committee.
  • Dennis Maple of Greentown, Ind. is the vice chair the Corn Productivity and Quality Team, which oversees NCGA’s phenotyping, genotyping, federal research and Farm Bill Title VII initiatives. Maple also serves on the Resolutions Committee.
  • Mike Beard of Frankfort, Ind. is serving a three-year term on the Resolutions Committee.
  • Mike Buis of Martinsville, Ind. serves on the committee overseeing NCGA’s Corn Political Action Committee. As part of the CornPAC Board, Buis, a past Indiana corn board member, works to promote the public policy goals of corn producers and their related agricultural interests. 
  • David Gottbrath, of New Pekin, Ind. serves on the Ethanol Committee which is charged with ensuring production, utilization, and promotion of corn-based biofuels; and to advocate for increased production and consumption of domestic renewable energy resources.
  • Ralph Kaufman of Atlanta, Ind. sits on the Consumer Engagement Team which helps direct NCGA’s efforts to educate consumers about U.S. agriculture with special attention to corn.
  • Mike Nichols of Rockport, Ind. serves on the Resolutions Task Force.
In addition to eight farmers, two Indiana Corn staff were named to advisory roles on NCGA committees. Director of Biofuels Ken Parrent will advise the Ethanol Committee. Livestock Director Andy Tauer will advise the Feed, Food and Industrial Committee. 
The one year appointments began October 1.
Contact:  Contact: Megan Kuhn, Indiana Corn Marketing Council and Indiana Corn Growers Association, 317-614-0377, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .
The Indiana Corn Marketing Council was established by the Indiana General Assembly to promote the interest of corn growers in the state and manage corn checkoff funds. The Council is composed of 17 voting producer directors and seven appointed industry, and government representatives. For more information, visit
The ICGA board, which works with the state and federal governments to develop and promote sound policies that benefit Indiana corn farmers, consists of 15 farmer-directors who provide leadership to the organization on behalf of the nearly 600 ICGA members statewide.
This communication was funded in part with corn checkoff dollars.